mtbr member
    Apr 2008

08 Reign X0 rear axle options?

I'm new to the world of bigger bikes and thru-axles and all that.

that said, i'm getting new wheels for my X0, as i really do not like the WTB wheelset that came on the bike (only thing that dissapointed me)

Do i have the option of running any kind of thru-axle on the rear of this bike, or am i stuck with the wimpy QR axle?

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    You're stuck with the QR. Some bikes come w/ rremovable hangers to change axle diameter, but not the Reign Xs.

thread crapper
    Feb 2008

Bologna!!!

You can too run a thru axle on the Reign X. I run the DT 10mm thru bolt system on my '08 Reign X1. So yes, you can run the thru axle / thru bolt on a Reign X. You just have to know which one. You can't do the 12mm without doing some frame modification with a grinder, which voids the warranty, but you can use the DT 10mm system. Mine's an FR440 hub with a 135 x 10 mm thru bolt. It does make it somewhat stiffer in the rear end and you get rid of some flex at the axle. Good luck and hope this helps.

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    really? I stand corrected. I'll have to look into that myself.

mtbr member
    You can run the DTSwiss QR 10mm axle which is a beauty and used on most hubs as long as you get the length correct.

Ill be converting mine soon with Hope Pro 2 hubs, 20mmFr and 10mmRr have not chosen hoops yet...?

Any ideas...? Cyclos.........etc etc. Im still out for shopping.

thread crapper
    Feb 2008