mtbr member

Would you consider a 24" wheeled bike for a short rider?

I am about to build a bike for my fiancee. She's 5'1" with a short torso. I have a friend with an aluminum frame 24" bike who wants to move to a 26". I have a 26" I was going to rebuild on a smaller frame and am considering some sort of trade. I'm 6'2" so I have no experience with 24" bikes. The 24" has a super crappy fork. I thought I might be able to put a nice 80mm 26" fork on it though with disc brakes. Question is: for really short riders is a 24" better than a 26" or is it just personal preference? I assume ride would be better with a 26", but would there be much difference?

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    Good luck finding a decent set of disc 24" wheels, tires, and a frame. I'd go with 26 just for that reason alone.

beater
    I have a friend who is 5' nothing. She fits quite happily onto a XS Santa Cruz Juliana.
    "Back off, man. I'm a scientist." - Dr. Peter Venkman

Riding in Helena? Everything you need to know, right here.

mtbr member
    No on the 24!! Gears, forks and wheels would be a nightmare.

My Wife is 5-1 and she found an extra small Santa Cruz Juliana to be too small for her. She now rides a medium Rocky Mountain Blizzard and a small Juliana and both fit her perfectly.

There are plenty of 26 options out there for the vertically challenged.

NONDURO
    Surly 1x1.
    QUOTE from MTBR.COM: You have given out too much Reputation in the last 24 hours, try again later.

It's about showing up.
    No. There are plenty of S and XS bikes from top makers out there to demonstrate their functionality for smaller folk. The roll you get from a 24 in anything bumpy will be halting and uncomfortable. On the flats the 26s will pull away. Further, with the limited selection of wheels and frames I'll just bet you will end up with a heavy bike, too.
    I don't rattle.

AZ
    banned
    Too many good choices to have to resort to 24" wheels imo.

mtbr member