Hissatsu Jitensha-nin

Woman escapes tsunami by bike!

My spelling is atroshus
    I lived there for close to seven years. They are very bicycle friendly in Japan. They even have laws that protect cyclists.

Hissatsu Jitensha-nin
    Quote Originally Posted by RBowles
    I lived there for close to seven years. They are very bicycle friendly in Japan. They even have laws that protect cyclists.
    boka wa Nihon ni itta koto ga arimasen...I studied Japanese for 8 years (and I still think I flubbed that simple sentence)! Never been there. I guess they make em pretty tough out there eh? I'd love to see that old ladies rig though. Probably rode a Kuwahara.

High Desert MTBer
    I don't really want to seem callous, but I just don't get what is so amazing about this story? Why are they making such a big deal about it? This woman is over 80, OK, but she has stayed healthy. Given a tsunami warning, and a choice of bike or shanks' pony, what are you gonna do? I doubt she was doing a Lance away from the water. Good on her, but there are much more important things out there to report.
    I guess the real news is that she is healthy and able to ride a bike... a lesson for us all perhaps? Eat a lot of fish and ride a bike...

I need skills
    Jul 2004

"like" button

that is what I was thinking. Plus, glad she made it.

mtbr member
    May 2004
    Bikes are a great way to get around in a disaster zone, I've seen them in some of the pics.
    There's a big difference between ripping and skidding. Those who skid don't know how to ride.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by rockerc