Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2014

Where do I begin

So I went to a bike shop. Guy showed me this what I thought was a decent giant talon 29er. I'm new to mountain bikes but was familiar with shimano and rockshox and thought I was getting a decent bike. However he only had it in an xL frame and I'm 5'8. So when it comes it's a different color and has a no name ( didn't know at the time) fork and SRAM components. He tells me I he'll give me 200 bucks off for the mistake and I'm getting high quality components. Long story short I got dooped and of course a night mare trying to return it. So anyway I've been riding it. I want to upgrade the front forks triggers and derailers. Another lbs is steering me to rock shox fork and bottom line shimano. I have tried to look but can someone help. My budget on forks is about 400. As far as the other components. Is ther a huge difference in the shimano bottom line or xtr. Any and all suggestions appreciated just remember I'm a beginner so if you start talking all the millimeter stuff please explain in detail. Thanks

Bro
    Where I do my thinking
    First things first: what specifically is on your bike now? Names....

Secondly, what's the issue with returning a bike that you don't want?
    I've made some bad decisions like taking the gears off my bike. So here's the warning: Do not as I say, nor as I do.

fly on the wall
    Nov 2010
    Before we get to any discussion of new parts, if I read it correctly, you're 5'8", and he sold you an extra large frame?

Short of a return / exchange, this size mismatch will be a bigger issue than any parts can make.
    ~Always avoid alliteration.

Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/NearlyFr...ew=0&flow=grid

mtbr member
    Apr 2013