mtbr member
    Jul 2011

What would you do?! Wheels or ss29er?!

So I'm a broke college student. I love my Giant Trance x but the wheels are the low man on the totem pole. Stock Giant PXC2 wheelset. Everything else is awesome. Fox, SLX, Hayes, little bit o bling...

I also love to ride my buddies single speed 29er and am DYING to have my own!

I only have enough to do 1. Buy sunringle' charger pro's for my Trance x or Buy a Rigid single-speed 29er and get super frakin' STRONG!

What would you do???

Rogue Exterminator
    You should do whatever will make you smile more.

For me it would be another bike.
    Can't say that will make you smile as much though.

clown question, bro
    New SS. Even a "cheap" one is a blast.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ilikebmx999 View Post
    Are we just ignoring balls? Lol

FKA Malibu412
    kj is dead on. If I could make the stock wheels work and kind of baby them along, then the SS would be how I'd spend my coin for the new challenges and smiles.
    "I love the bike. It's my meditation. I think I'm bike-sexual." -Robin Williams

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by kjlued View Post
    You should do whatever will make you smile more.

For me it would be another bike.
    Can't say that will make you smile as much though.
    Totally! I would love the new wheels but I would loooooove the option of a 2nd bike just to mix things up. I have a road bike too but I commute to work on it enough to regret selling it. (I hate road riding by the way)

The only thing is I'll only have about $400 for either the wheels or the bike. I have been creeping on-one and surly threads in hopes to build one of those frames but its just not financially feasible this year

Found a great deal on a 2011' new in shop redline monocog in my budget though. I just keep juggling wheels or bike. I know the bike will make me way more happier but the idea of an upgrade always creeps up. Grrrr!