Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Nov 2014

What type of bike should I get?

Hi, i'm new to this sport & I was wondering what would be the best choice for me. I need a bike that can be used off-road & on-road, mostly on-road to get to off-road parts, the type of terrain is rough & rocky, I wont be doing any crazy jumps or backflips, just some fast down-hill & up-hill riding, since i'm a beginner, i'll most likely be falling quite a lot + i'm a pretty rough person, so resistance is a must.

So far i've picked these out, not sure if they're what im looking for or if they're worth their price.

Talon 29er (2015) | Giant Bicycles | United States

Specialized Bicycle Components

X-Caliber 6 - Trek Bicycle

Marlin 7 - Trek Bicycle

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    Those are all good entry level bikes. The one thing you're missing out on at that price point is an air fork.

2014's are being closed out right now, so you might be able to get a good deal locally.

You might also consider buying used if you're comfortable without a warranty and can do basic maintenance.
    2012 Specialized Camber Comp
    2014 Kona Taro
    2014 Giant Trance 27.5 1

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by free- View Post
    Hi, i'm new to this sport & I was wondering what would be the best choice for me. I need a bike that can be used off-road & on-road, mostly on-road to get to off-road parts, the type of terrain is rough & rocky, I wont be doing any crazy jumps or backflips, just some fast down-hill & up-hill riding, since i'm a beginner, i'll most likely be falling quite a lot + i'm a pretty rough person, so resistance is a must.

So far i've picked these out, not sure if they're what im looking for or if they're worth their price.

Talon 29er (2015) | Giant Bicycles | United States

Specialized Bicycle Components

X-Caliber 6 - Trek Bicycle

Marlin 7 - Trek Bicycle