I like turtles

What is the new 29er geo?

So with Niner's recent decision to file Chapter 11 for reorganization/purchase/funding from another entity, I see lots of commentary on the FB etc. regarding Niner's lack of keeping up with modern geo etc. So what exactly is modern 29er geo vs. older 29er geo? Is older a shorter top tube, slacker seat angle, steeper head angle, and a longer stem? Is newer the longer top tube, lower BB, and slacker head angle?
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2018 Niner RKT 9 RDO - enduro are #@$%

mtbr member
    yes.

Can someone post an example of a 29er hardtail and a FS 29er that has been made with the same name for a few years but juxatpose charts showing the old geo and the new geo?

I would do this myself but i don't feel qualified to determine the best candidates. my interest is fairly limited to steel hardtails, and i have watched the Surly Karate Monday change a lot over the years.

remember kids, don't play with bikes that have head tube angles steeper than 70 degrees. that's dangerous!
    Last edited by mack_turtle; 1 Week Ago at 08:43 PM.
    Thorn in your Sidewall
    Vassago Jabberwocky

mtbr member
    Jul 2017
    Longer, slacker, lower. The new hotness.
    I no longer like to party. But I like the idea of it.

WillWorkForTrail
    Quote Originally Posted by mack_turtle View Post

remember kids, don't play with bikes that have head tube angles steeper than 70 degrees. that's dangerous!
    I flirt with disaster every day. I've got one that even over forked to 120mm is still 71 degrees.

Professional Crastinator
    If you look at Canfield Riot and the newer Toir, their "old" geo is the new geo. Same with the Nimble 9 hardtail.

"Old" geo is the Niner MCR9 or SIR. I haven't checked the ROS9, though.

-F
    It's never easier - you just go faster.

Here, diagonally!
    Quote Originally Posted by Cotharyus View Post