Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    TEAM TOPEAK - ERGON

What MP3 Player to Buy?

Anyone ride/train/race with an MP3 player? If so....
    What brand?
    Did you buy it online?
    What is the durability from sweat and the elements of nature?
    I am in the market, and just want to know if anyone found a good one out there.
    Thanks!

Salad Days

Md

I have been using a sony net-md player and am very happy with it. A nice thing about MD as opposed to an Ipod or something is the huge (30hr or so) battery life. The new ones hav e 1gb disks too, which hold a ton of music. Seems to be very durable, I have been treating it poorly for 3 years now, taking it on lots of rides, and have had no problems. Music is easily transfered using the Real ONe player, or sony's crappy proprietary software. It has gotten soaked inside my pack, dropped a few times, and the remote has been rained on and snowed on and still works.

Check out www.minidisco.com
    or this one looks good. I want to upgrade.
    http://www.minidisco.com/mz-nh600d.html
    Last edited by jparker164; 11-03-2004 at 09:45 AM.

Bad Case of the Mondays
    Quote Originally Posted by KERKOVEJ
    What brand?
    Did you buy it online?
    Thanks!
    I've gone through several over the last couple years. I would have never believed it, but I'm a 100% IPod man now. There just isn't anything nearly as good IMO. The integration with ITunes (which I also like a lot), battery life, interface, storage just is a winning package.

Check out the new HP Ipods, same thing but considerably cheaper.

mtbr member
    May 2004

go with rio

really, look at the flash-based players, as those are geared towards abuse, given that they have NO MOVING PARTS (whereas my RIO karma 20g hard-disk based player does have moving parts, i have abused it, and it still runs great)

IPOD battery life sucks.
    IPOD does not allow for FLAC or OGG VORBIS file types (less lossy than MP3)

Panasonic makes an Extreme player as well.