Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

WalMart bike kicked my Ibis's ass!!

16K views 96 replies 52 participants last post by  hardtail05 
#1 ·
Ok so I go riding with my brother in Santee CA, I haven't ridden in that area before and my brother is telling me all about his $110 WalMart bike that they mismarked and he got for $65, which is about what my tires cost, he has been bragging about how good he is, I've been riding for many years and have brought my Ibis Silk Ti down, it has a nice Bomber Z2 fork on it, I'm confident I can ride circles around him. Well, we start going down this trail and a good speed, I'm thinking he is doing allright, then he startes going faster, and the terrain gets extremely rough, lots of baby heads everywhere, it's like a cobblestone highway. Well by now my bro is pulling away from me, sitting down and cruising like its a Sunday cruise, I'm using all my strength and skill trying to keep my bike straight, its bouncing all over these large cobblestones, I can't believe it, this can't happen, so about halfway down this trail I yell stop!! and I switch bikes with him. I climb on this Wally special, the handle bars are way up in the air and ultra tal front end, felt like riding a chopper, i swear the bike was almost as heavy as a Harley. I take his bike down the trail now, with its giant tractor weight tires, and to my disbelief, this heavy tank cheap ass bike, floats down the trail like a caddy!!! His heavy bike doesn't deflect on the rocks, the front wheel is like an immense gyroscope, nothing moves it! In the meantime my bro is laughing at my expensive bike, cause it totally sucks on this trail, and he is 100% correct. So I guess the moral of this story is...........? :(

See less See more
#6 ·
Not me!

See I dont have that problem I ride A Redline SS I just blow past anyone riding a wallyworld special...But in all fairness most of the riders who have them here arn't really pushing hard too bad I'd love to smoke em! :cool:

#7 ·