Thread: Tires

mtbr member
    May 2018

Tires

Hello everyone, I'm new to the sport and yet to really go out riding because I just got two new bikes and want to make some changes and I need some experienced riders advice please. I'm kind of a tall and big guy at 6'6 285, I got two 29 inch bikes which can support my weight but the tires I doubt. I'm thinking that if I buy tires that hold a lot more pressure I should be okay? What tire do you suggest for me and what max pressure should they be for my weight? Thank you.

bikes don't have motors
    Just don't exceed the max pressure that is on the sidewall of your stock tires. Ride them until you get an idea of what tires work well in your local conditions. Lower tire pressures aren't a bad thing, you just don't want to have pressures so low that you get snake bite punctures or rim strikes.
    Quote Originally Posted by me View Post
    Of all the paths you take in life, make sure that most of them are dirt.
    Quote Originally Posted by mack_turtle View Post
    Gravel bike hate is imagined.
    Sweet.

noob bikepacker
    Quote Originally Posted by hardeeboy View Post
    Hello everyone, I'm new to the sport and yet to really go out riding because I just got two new bikes and want to make some changes and I need some experienced riders advice please. I'm kind of a tall and big guy at 6'6 285, I got two 29 inch bikes which can support my weight but the tires I doubt. I'm thinking that if I buy tires that hold a lot more pressure I should be okay? What tire do you suggest for me and what max pressure should they be for my weight? Thank you.
    what kind of bikes? It will help to know

I started out riding at 320 lbs years ago, and all of my experience back then was to NOT have high pressure tires...the more air I put in them, the more blow outs I had. Also, I would be "trampolining" down or over rocky/rooty technical areas.