mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Summer riding in Marin

Hi all,

I'm returning to the sport after a 10 year absence and am loving being back in the saddle. Having a blast riding in my backyard on Mt. Burdell, have hit China Camp, and last week did Big Rock for the first time (from Lucas Valley Road). It's getting dry and loose out there and I'm wondering where folks like to ride in the summer here in Marin that might not be so dry?? I'm still getting to know the trails, so looking for some suggestions for a beginner-intermediate rider. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    Anything facing the coast will tend to get more moisture: Dias, Coastal View, the fire roads in the Headlands, etc. Other than that I think you just have to put up with the moondust, be careful, and hope next year isn't so dry.

mtbr member
    I'm new to the Bay area so I don't have much advice but I'd suggest you'd get better advice on the NorCal forum:

California - Norcal
    The trouble with having an open mind is that people will insist on trying to put things in it.

mtbr member
    Jun 2014

thanks random rider

Thanks - great ideas - I think I'll head west and get off of the fireroads. Happy trails -

mtbr member
    May 2005
    You should try Tamarancho in Fairfax. You have to buy a day pass for $5 (the Boy Scouts own the land) but it's worth it since it is the only decent legal single track in Marin. Much better than China Camp. You can buy day passes at some of the bike shops there and they will give you a map and direct you to the trailhead. Sunshine Bikes (next to the Iron Springs Brewpub!) is one of the shops that sell passes.

The lack of decent single track in the supposed birthplace of mountain biking is pretty sad. I almost gave up mountain biking when I moved to San Francisco from Colorado and found out Marin is almost nothing but fireroads.

mtbr member
    Jun 2014