nuke the wales
    Feb 2009

Slow season at our shop

I am a mechanic at a local bike shop and our slow season is in full swing, for the last few weeks I have swept the floors cleaned cabinets and any menial organizing that keeps me occupied through the day. Sorry to ramble so my question is what do other shop employees do when it is slow thanks for listening

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    clean the bathrooms, mop the floors, do the glass on the doors, dust the displays, detail the baseboards. At least that's what I do when I get overly bored.

More importantly work on ideas of how to get new customers into the shop. Think about what you can contribute that will make the shop better next season. Do you need anything installed at the shop that you think will make it more organized, presentable, customer or employee friendly? Your the one with the tools, get to work at it.

nuke the wales
    Feb 2009
    I agree with everything you said I didn't mean this thread to be a complaint area I feel very blessed to have my dream job and a wife who understands my passion. I did take all of our overflow spoke selection organize them and put them in a brand new bin

fly on the wall
    Nov 2010
    I've never worked as a bike mechanic or know anything about the goings of shop operations, but what does it mean for slow season? Is your area under snow this time of year, or is it so cold that people ride less?

mtbr member
    winter time in upstate Ny we did XC ski sales and service ( bindings, waxing and edging) along with ice skate sharpening. your in Colorado, does the shop your at do anything like that?
    '11 Jedi
    '01 Straight8
    '01Rocket88< ran over it.. always do a full walk around!
    '00 Homegrown

nuke the wales
    Feb 2009