mtbr member
    Sep 2014

Should i Machine my own DERAILLEUR HANGER?

So i purchased a used 2010 Kona stinky six. thought it was a great deal but it seems like it was beaten up pretty bad ( the parts list keeps adding up). the next item i need to buy is a new D. Hanger since its warped up bad. i straightened it in a vice the best i can but the slight twist on it still, causes it to skip teeth on the smallest 2 sprockets when under average torque.

so i looked around and found the specific hanger that i need.....

seemed like the average hanger price was 30-40$.... not too bad..... then i found mine.... $80-$120...... 2-3x the price. this being said i can purchase a block of titanium for about $ 45-$60 or get very high grade Al and still pay about half the price.. i would 3D model it on my computer and either machine it by hand or give it to a machine shop student and have em CNC it for me ( im a student at a Engineering Tech college.. ie lots of tools and machines to play with )

this being said. my question is should i machine the part myself and save half the cost, or should i pay the full price?

Or maybe im just miss informed about the hanger.

here are the links i found

Derailleur Hanger #252

Thanks for the help guys

mtbr member
    maybe contact kona direct and see if you can get better price.

mtbr member
    Sep 2014
    couldnt find a real number to contact them. kept finding bike shop dealers.

ill look more in the AM

mtbr member

Should i Machine my own DERAILLEUR HANGER?

What is your time worth?
    By your numbers, there is potentially only a $20 difference between the titanium block and the manufactured drop out. I would guess that your time is worth more than that.
    Its all Shits and Giggles until somebody Giggles and Shits

mtbr member
    Apr 2010