mtbr member
    Feb 2013

Purchasing help please

• Hello there, I am new to the MTB community and need some help with purchasing a new bike. My previous was a 2012 Giant Talon, but it was so uncomfortable so I sold it.

I have been to my local bikes shops. and test rode a few. Here is my question. Id like to have something with lockout, as well as hydraulic disc brakes. Should I really spend up to 1000$ on a bike? I will only be riding trails and free rides for the most part.

The bikes I have rode are the
      2013 Trek Mamba
      2013 Specialized Rockhopper comp
      2013 Cannondale Sl3

These are the bikes I am mainly interested in. Please, someone help me in deciding which bike would be the fit for me, considering Im not going to be doing much downhill or mountain type.

1/2 fast or 1/2 assed?
    Quote Originally Posted by robroy1031 View Post
    • Hello there, I am new to the MTB community and need some help with purchasing a new bike. My previous was a 2012 Giant Talon, but it was so uncomfortable so I sold it.

I have been to my local bikes shops. and test rode a few. Here is my question. Id like to have something with lockout, as well as hydraulic disc brakes. Should I really spend up to 1000$ on a bike? I will only be riding trails and free rides for the most part.

The bikes I have rode are the
      2013 Trek Mamba
      2013 Specialized Rockhopper comp
      2013 Cannondale Sl3

These are the bikes I am mainly interested in. Please, someone help me in deciding which bike would be the fit for me, considering Im not going to be doing much downhill or mountain type.

I have a bad feeling about any of these being any more comfy than the Giant. Youve been to the LBS and sat on them but want our opinion? Ima guess you need to be on a hybrid or comfort bike. You can still take them offroad but theyre better suited for bike paths and much more comfortable to sit on. Have you looked at the other offerings from your LBS?