Thread: power grips

magaw country
    Nov 2007

power grips

Any word on power grips. I have always been curious about those. I currently run time pedals, but I still find myself chickening out on technical downhill stuff. I used to run the oldschool platform, clip and strap combo. When I would get to a techinical section I would just take my feet out of the straps and flip the pedals upside down. There was always the chance that the clips would catch on something while hanging upside down , but I never did have a problem with it. I just purchased a pair of Atac Zs but they don't feel as stable as I hoped for, when uncliped. I would like to find a good compromise that would allow me to spin when needed and also to have a stable platform for situations when I need to be abel to throw a leg or two out , for stability and balance. And lets not forget safety.

Rub it............
    I love my power grips. I've been using them for approx 10 years now. Getting ready to replace the straps. They aren't that expensive either. I'd give them a try.

It gives you the benefit of running platforms (if you like platforms) for quick rides around the neighborhood and the benefit of having your foot secured during climbs. Its not as secure as a clipless pedal like the SPD's or a Egg Beater. However, during the few spills I have taken, zero hangups in the pedals when trying to get out of them.

And you don't have to flip the pedal over, just step on the strap.

breathing helium
    I just got a set along with some vintage Suntour pedals off Ebay. I think that the clipless may be the root of some knee pain I have. Check Matt Chester's blog for lots of good PG info http://mattchester.blogspot.com/
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    I've been using them for many years and like them. not quite as good as a dedicated clipless platform, but waay more versatile (and forgiving on the knees, if you have those issues).