Thread: Polite drivers

mtbr member
    Aug 2009

Polite drivers

I'm just getting back on the bike this year. I had an injury sidetracked me for a while, so I'm just getting started again. Recently I've been riding the streets around the neighborhood to build up some miles. These are two lane, suburban side streets, 35 to 40 MPH, with a bike lane big enough for one. The streets are really wide too.

I'd say that 70% of the drivers who pass me go WAY out of their way to give me space even though I'm in the bike lane. I bet 40% of them go over the double yellow to give me a wide berth. I'm talking 15 to 20 feet of distance between us.

I don't do a lot of riding on the road, but even still, it surprised me.

My other ride
    It's a mix. In my area, I'd say 30/50/20; polite/indifferent/rude

mtbr member
    I can only wish! Even with bike lanes. I try to ride rail/horse trails as much as possible around here.
    2016 SC Heckler R build
    2014 All City Macho Man Disc
    Nashbar 29er (Rigid)

Giggity!

mtbr member
    Aug 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by muddytire View Post
    I'm just getting back on the bike this year. I had an injury sidetracked me for a while, so I'm just getting started again. Recently I've been riding the streets around the neighborhood to build up some miles. These are two lane, suburban side streets, 35 to 40 MPH, with a bike lane big enough for one. The streets are really wide too.

I'd say that 70% of the drivers who pass me go WAY out of their way to give me space even though I'm in the bike lane. I bet 40% of them go over the double yellow to give me a wide berth. I'm talking 15 to 20 feet of distance between us.

I don't do a lot of riding on the road, but even still, it surprised me.
    Wide streets . . . Bike lane . . . Polite drivers
    . . . No mention of potholes - this paradise sure isn't Pennsylvania. 😉

Cycologist