Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Police Bikes

2K views 16 replies 14 participants last post by  Some Guy 
#1 ·
My wife and I stopped in a bike shop while we were on vacation, and the salesguy told us that an F600 we were checking out is the same one the local cops use. He added that the only difference is they modify it so you don't get the "clicking" sound when you stop pedaling, so they can sneak up on people if they have to.

While I don't really know how much sneakign up on people they do, doing away with the clicking sounds pretty neat. I'm sure this is a dumb question, but forgive me I'm a newbie, but how is that accomplished? Also, is there a downside to such a mod?

#2 ·
eto said:
My wife and I stopped in a bike shop while we were on vacation, and the salesguy told us that an F600 we were checking out is the same one the local cops use. He added that the only difference is they modify it so you don't get the "clicking" sound when you stop pedaling, so they can sneak up on people if they have to.

While I don't really know how much sneakign up on people they do, doing away with the clicking sounds pretty neat. I'm sure this is a dumb question, but forgive me I'm a newbie, but how is that accomplished? Also, is there a downside to such a mod?
They probably don't modify a noisy hub but just install one that's relatively quiet, like these:

http://www.trueprecision.net/c_products_mountain.html

#4 ·
Some hubs run almost silent.

My Cannondale Fire Disc rear hub runs VERY quietly. Your ear has to be right next to the swingarm to hear it in the stand. On the trail, silence.

The King Classic on my Wife's bike, on the other hand, is the loudest hub I have have ever been around.

#5 ·
Back in the mid 90's shimano made a silent clutch hub and it was just that. The one's I remember seeing were about the lx level but were a bit heavier than the stock lx (if you can imagine that). I've seen them pop up on ebay from time to time. I'd like to get one for my SS.

#7 ·