mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Picked up a free Trek 6500

What's going on. First off I'm new to the forum and I just want to say what a great site. Very useful information here.
    Picked up a free Trek 6500-imageuploadedbytapatalk1375307282.813043.jpg
    Picked up a free Trek 6500-imageuploadedbytapatalk1375307352.447239.jpg
    I just wanted to get some opinions on my new bike. It's a Trek 6500SLR. I'm not sure of the year but a buddy of mine was moving and didn't want it anymore. So I gladly took it of his hands. This is just a bike I'd like to fix up and ride around town with my family and slight trail riding. Forgive me with the terminology I'm still learning. Here's what I'm thinking:

Install only 1 chain ring instead of the 3.
    Possibly getting rid of the cassette and converting to single speed.
    Powder coating the frame.
    Mechanical disc brakes.

So far that's all I got. I'd like to do a different color scheme. I'd like the bike to stand out. If this was your bike what would you do? Thanks for the feed back.

'Tis but a scratch
    It looks like a 2005: 2005 Trek 6500 - BikePedia But, the cantilever brakes are throwing me.

The upgrade from cantilever brakes to disc can get costly if your fork and frame don't have the mounts for the calipers. And based on your pics, they don't. Furthermore, your wheels would also need to be upgraded (or at least your hubs) to accept discs. So, its either full wheel replacement or new hubs and re-laced wheels. Not worth the expense on this bike.

To be honest with you, I think you scored a decent bike at a "can't lose" price. But, I caution you not to sink a lot of money into it. If you want to play around with paint, go for it. If you want to make it a single speed or 1xN that can be done 'on the cheap'. Or you could just tune it up and ride it as-is.

Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum