mtbr member
    Feb 2015

pedals and Shoe help

I am seeking help with recommendations on a few pedals and shoe options.

Pedals -
    I am new to mountain biking so I am going to begin using flat pedals until I get more comfortable, skilled, and learn my new bike. Which of these two pedals is better, or are they going to provide me with about the same reliability, grip, etc.?

Crank Brothers 5050 3
    5050 3 pedal | elite-level dh/fr | crankbrothers

Xpedo Faceoff 13 or 17
    FACEOFF 13 - Xpedo

I am liking the looks of the Xpedo better, but I know CrakBrothers is good. Is Xpedo ok as well as long as I order from them to avoid the fakes that are floating around other places?

Shoes -
    This is where it gets difficult. I wear a size US 13 (EU 47) and often find it hard to find shoes available in my size. I do not even know where to begin or look for shoes designed for flat pedals, as it seems like the market is saturated with shoes designed specifically for clipless spd. Can anyone offer a brand name or line of shoes that are good? (I do not like the looks of Five Ten)

I found this shoe by Scott, in which the rubber on the sole can be removed to uncover the SPD cleat connections, but can it be left on and used to ride a flat pedal?

Scott Boa EVO Trail shoe
    SCOTT Sports - SCOTT Trail Boa Evo Shoe

Thank you for any assistance you can give with finding a suitable flat pedal and shoe for mountain biking (xc).

Beer Please! SuperModerator
    Either Pedal will meet your needs. As for shoes you "can" ride with just about any shoe. I know cause my friends who do not ride with clipless wear all sorts of weird shoes. However I would recommend something with a slightly softer sole to best grip the pedal pegs. If shoes are hard to find, are there any particular Skate Shoe Brands that run in your size?

Also 661 makes some nice MTB Shoes that will work for flats but have a notch you can pull the rubber out of if you ever decide to go with Clipless.