mtbr member
    Oct 2012

new to tubeless fail

I'm brand new to the tubeless game:

I just got some Stan's rims for my rigid SS, threw my Maxxis' on them (with Stan's fluid), pumped them up to ~21-22 lbs and went for a ride.
    A couple of miles in, moving pretty quickly, I had to take a sudden hard left to weave through some trees. The tire folded, lost all air immediately and sent me flying into the abyss.
    Who knew that the abyss was so full of logs and rocks?

I've never heard of this happening before.
    My assumption is that there wasn't enough air pressure in the tire to handle the forces, but I've heard endlessly about people running Tubeless tire pressure that low.

Why did I have this kind of failure and how can I prevent it in the future?

Heckle away.....

Tire pressure depends heavily on your weight, trails, rim width, and riding style. Maybe that pressure is a bit too low for you given the other variables.

Also, how much time elapsed between setting up the tires and going for your ride? Did you make sure the bead was adequately seated? Were the tires brand new, or have they been used prior to being set up tubeless? Are the tires regular tires or tubeless ready ones?

If they'd been used prior to being set up tubeless, and you went out for a ride immediately after installing them, it's quite likely that they were not sealed yet. Used tires have a ton of minute holes that need to be sealed. They will weep sealant for quite some time before sealing up completely. Some may never completely seal. Especially regular tires. Brand new tires will seal up much quicker initially.

If you're using UST rims and tubeless tires (either UST or tubeless ready), setup can be REALLY quick and you can get out and ride. Tubeless ready rims may take a little more setup time because you have strips to deal with.

Anytime you add a component not designed to be used tubeless, you add setup time. Used tires add still more setup time.

mtbr member
    Oct 2012