mtbr member
    Jan 2013

new beginner bike trek 6700 or specialized hardrock??

hi,
    i am very new to the mountain bike and looking for the hardtail.
    i went to the local bike shop today to find out what frame size i should get and basic info about mtb.

so it turns out that i need XL frame 21" or something.

i was recommended on this specialized hardrock dics brake for 499.
    and i was another bike trek 3500, which he mentioned that trek has heavier frame.
    and this expensive thing trek 6700 2011 came up. was on sale for $800..? im not sure if it was 700 or 800. anyways, worst case, it will be 850 after tax. i think.
    regular was ~$1300.

so here's my question which one should i get.
    i mean... both bikes well exceed my budget, which is $300.
    i was actually looking for used bike but there isnt so many XL frame on craigslist in my place.

also, the shop i went to seems like only have specialized and trek.

i know there are many good brands like k2, cannondale, norco, and raleigh.

should i go shop around more for clearance bikes or wait for right used bike??
    OR!
    any recommendation?

i used to have trek 4 series i bought as used back in college, i didnt even know the existence of frame size... lol
    but that got stolen...

my plan is to ride on regular basis maybe twice a week at local park wit trails and stuff.
    i know i sound really noob,,, but please help. thank you.

Fat-tired Roadie
    How long have you been watching Craig's List? When I wanted a track bike, I did it that way. I bought it to race, so I was looking for one with "real" track geometry and in my size. Having more constraints made it take longer - I think it took me a few weeks.

Also look for bikes advertised as 21" or 22".

And, make some phone calls. Find out what other shops have. Used sporting goods stores and pawn shops can be another way to stretch a buck.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Jan 2013