mtbr member
    Apr 2012

My first bike? Gary Fisher Tassajara?

Hi everyone. I'm a total noob but I have been reading this forum a lot trolling the place.
    So I am planning to buy this for $250 used. Is this a decent beginner bike and for the price? I know it's a 09 but my car is a 98 Corolla....so it's pretty dang new for me.

bikereviews-dot-com/mountain-bikes/gary-fisher/2009-gary-fisher/gary-fisher-tassajara-mountain-bike/

Decent? Not sure how you factor in prices for bikes besides looking up at Ebay and Craigslist and seeing what people are selling it for. Thank you in advance and would appreciate any feedback.

mtbr member
    If the bikes fits you right and you like the way it rides, $250 seem a fair price if the bike and all the components are in good shape. Considering that the bike's MSRP was $1079.99 when new, $250 is probably reasonable; I'd recommend trying to haggle a bit on the price.

However, be mindful of purchasing used bikes; one never know for certain how the previous owner(s) treated it. There's no used bike service like Car Fax, so caveat emptor. If the bike lived it's previous life riding on smooth rails-to-trails twice a year and was garaged rest of the year, then it's a great buy. If the bike was the daily rider of its previous owner(s), then 3 years of use will mean many components are well past due for replacement (if not already replaced).
    Go on ahead, I'm gonna take a breather.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Thanks you are right about the parts. I will look at brakes, look for cracks, test it for a bit to see how it is. I think he'll drop to 200.

mtbr member
    I have this bike. Bought it used last August for $650, in "hardly ridden" condition. Obviously, condition of a used bike makes a huge difference in the price. Hopefully you're experienced enough with bikes to judge the condition well.