mtbr member
    May 2012

My day at Ray's MTB park in Cleveland, Ohio. Edit and pics inside. Hope you enjoy.

My Day at Ray's MTB park in Cleveland, Ohio - YouTube

Here's my edit. Apologies for the spectacularly shitty transitions and overall choppiness. It ain't bad though. Had to work with the footage I had. No music, just natural sounds (with Ray's Guitar Hero-esque soundtrack in the background). Watch in HD.

Ray's MTB park in Cleveland, Ohio, for those of you who may not know, is an indoor bike park of almost incomparable quality. To know a place like this exists...in CLEVELAND of all places, is mind blowing.

This was my first time there and I felt like a fat kid in a Swiss chocolate shop (I've been to Switzerland - those bastards know chocolate). At first I was a little gun shy on some of the obstacles, particularly the things including jumps. But one reason Ray's is so good is because of how wonderfully the place is designed to go from complete beginner to slopestyle expert difficulty with everything in between. Spend enough time in that park, with no prior experience, and I am confident you could tackle just about everything there.

As proof of this, I saw riders young and old. A little girl with her dad, no more than 11 years old (doing lots of obstacles that would make grown men back down in fear) shredding alongside some 40+ year old dude with a hobbled together (though rather sick looking) dirt jump bike of unknown origin. And of course, lots of kids who are just incredible and doing all the **** we watch weekly in Red Bull vids, right next to you, showing you up close how it's done.

The place is freaking magical.

Oh and one more thing, if you have a kid, take them there. You'd think a place like Ray's would scare a lot of parents away. Apparently not. The majority of participants were around age 12-15, I'd wager. Makes me feel pretty good about the future of mountain biking.

Link to pics I took: http://imgur.com/a/KLYbO