• 10-18-2011
    Hkp2000
    what great videos. you guys have film and beatiful country.
  • 10-18-2011
    kingofZroad
    Great stuff!! Thanks for posting!
  • 10-22-2011
    yaga
    Thanks for this thread. This really should be a sticky for the Beginners's Corner.
    I just started riding again (last 1991) and been hitting my local trails that has a bit of almost everything. The straight line and cornering video was very informative and useful for my type of riding.
  • 10-22-2011
    yaga
    Recently a couple of my neighbors bought new hardtails and one with a 29". I am having questions in my mind if the bike I have is adequate for my needs.

Do I really NEED to upgrade to a newer bike like a hardtail with disc brakes (post 2006)? The trails I am learning or working on are the easy sections of Towsley Canyon and Tapia Canyon in SoCal - which the neighbor (experienced rider) with the new 29'' also frequents. If I feel confident, I try the moderate sections. As far as I can see, the bike I ride is fine.

But as they say, "Ignorance is bliss." I have known from the 4x4 world that its always the driver not the truck.

No plans to be extreme but want to be competent to ride the "moderate" trails. I am currently riding a rigid frame 1989 Mongoose IBOC Comp with traditional cantilever brakes. I just started riding seriously (I consider myself a beginner.)

Thanks for any comments or info - Sorry for the hijack. I'm not able to start a thread until I hit 5 posts or greater.
  • 10-22-2011
    Hutch3637