mtbr member
    Aug 2015

More mountain bikers on the trails?

I just watched a video on bicycle retailer about e-bikes. One of the comments was e-bikes will get more taxpayers out and be beneficial to trail access and funding.
    I have been riding for over 20 years and have seen a steady year after year increase of mountain bikers in my area. Because of this I have also seen some of my favorite trails shut down to mountain bikers. Some trails for safety reasons have become one way. I used to be able to go riding peacefully with my dog, now the trails are just too busy.
    Our trail network has gotten larger, but none of the new riders do a lick of maintenance.
    I love or sport, and I support anyone in our MTB community. And would really like new users to embrace the lifestyle of riding and maintaining rather than using until the next best thing comes long.
    Paying taxes shouldn't be the only thing you do to support our hobby.

Sneaker man
    I recently moved back to the area where I started mtbing, back all through the 90's i'd go riding on my local trails 3 or more times a week and unless there was a race or an organised shop ride from 92-98 I can only remember coming across 1 other person on a ride (maybe more, but only remember that one). So no that many people riding here and there were 3 bike stores n town and only 2 doing any good.