mtbr member

The mental rollercoaster of buying a new bike

Reading these forums is the absolute WORST thing you can do while deciding on a new bike to buy.

I'm currently riding a nice, but old, 26" HT that I built up in 2005 but I'm ready for something new. I'm old enough that the cost isn't as much of an issue as it was when I was younger...but the decision making process is MUCH harder. I want to build a dream bike and I know exactly what that bike is...today. But EVERY time I read the forums, I change my mind.

Initial thought: Yeti ARC. I fell in love with Yeti's when I started riding in the late 80s but have never owned one. The ARC is the quintessential lightweight HT so that's what I'm getting.

Reading the forums: Yeti ASR-5. ARC? Really? The 26" HT is dead, man, join us in this century! OK, fine. I'll go with that drop-dead-sexy ASR-5. Light, climbs great. 5" travel.

Reading the 29er forum: Yeti Big Top. 26" wheels? Are you serious? Everyone is on 29s. Look at the top 100,000 riders on the Galactic World Cup standings and they are all on 29" wheels.

Reading the Yeti forum: Niner Air 9. KevinGT, you are WAY too short for a Big Top at 5' 6". They start at a medium. You need a small 29er that's designed for short people.

Reading the XC Racing forum: Yet to be named 650b HT. Have you seen the pictures of those short riders on their 29ers? ROFL! They are using -25 deg stems just to fit onto the silly things! Shorter riders need to be on 650b. That's the future of mountain biking anyway.

Reading the 650b forum: Yeti ASR-5. 650b is still in its infancy and it will be a while before there are any good race-quality HT frames on the market. Hey, maybe Yeti will make a 650b ARC!

Full circle...

(DISCLAIMER: This post was not intended to insult riders of 26" HTs, small-framed 29ers, or early 650b adopters!)
    I live with fear and danger every day. And on the weekends she lets me go mountain biking.

gobsmacked Moderator
    Apr 2008