Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    tire to rim ratio tester

Maybe Strava Isn't So Bad After All

I tried it about a year ago from a recommendation of someone on here. For some reason I couldn't login, plus I somehow went over to a non-biking section of the app, and between those two things, I gave up. Well, after getting an invite locally I decided to try it again, and it's pretty useful, not just to time stuff, but to see what trails are actually named what, even the segments of the trails, and how I stack up.

Now...if someone told you they finished 433 out of 658, you'd probably tell them they need to ride more. But for someone that's in their 3rd year of mountain biking, with a $500 hardtail, this number is actually good news! Just to be in the top 2/3 is fine with me, because this particular loop is grueling and there are not many beginners at all that do it. Most people are doing clipless and full suspension. In fact I don't even know what I am right now really, I'm a beginner in many aspects but if I can do segments 50% as fast as the KOM I must be doing something right. It was hot today and I had no energy, wasn't feeling it for some reason. On a different app I normally average 4.5-5.0 mph on the combined 1550 foot climb, 6.0 mile loop; today I averaged only 4.0 mph. On a cooler evening with more motivation I think could rank in the top 50% one day. And that's good enough for me and this bike.

The main particular downhill segment I averaged 6.9 mph downhill, and I normally do 10-12 mph on other trails so it tells you how hard the switchbacks were (I crashed once, pretty mild fall). KOM averaged 12.6 mph, so I was about 55% as fast. Trust me, this is not bad news, it's good news. Just to get to 65% as fast as the KOM one day on a cheap XC hardtail would be an accomplishment. BTW if anyone cares, the loop is called Fanita Loop, and the downhill part is Slaught Car LMF.

So yeah, I'm stoked to be in the top 2/3 with a $500 bike lol.