mtbr member

Losing Passion - How to Stop It

Recently I have been finding it harder to motivate myself to ride. My last bike got stolen and I was off the bike for a while. I'm in my late forties and I was surprised how much fitness I had lost when I finally got back in the saddle. I forced myself out on the bike and I gained back some fitness.

However, I have been riding pretty much the same trails for 15 years. So, I decided to go somewhere new and had a rotten time, cutting the ride short. Out of my depth skill wise and some bike issues. I had one fall leading to a bloody shin and a few near misses.

The one positive was that fitness wasn't the issue.

So, some tokens out of the shock, PSI reduced and rebound slowed. Just back from my local trails. Ride cut short again as I'm just not feeling it and after my experience of being in over my head, I find my confidence has taken a hit.

Anyone else ever go through phases like this? What did you find stoked your passion again?

slow
    I seem to hit a motivation wall every year. Sometimes it just takes time for it to pass. Usually it is July for me, but this year it hit early and I skipped riding for much of March and part of April. Some things that have helped me include:

1. Riding somewhere new. (Maybe try again, or another different place.)
    2. Riding with people who will motivate you to get out, or to push yourself. Maybe spend some time with friends sessioning technical spots to improve on confidence.
    3. Try riding something different. If you like long smooth rides, find tech and session for skills and confidence. If you like big air and jumps, try a long exploration ride on more mellow terrain.
    4. Buy something different to try: Different tires, different grips, different bike, new bikepacking bags, new shorts.
    5. Improve diet. Weird that it can be related, but I sometimes find my motivation drops when I eat poorly.