mtbr member

Look S-Track..anyone use these?

Looks interesting...and LIGHT! Anyone have any experience with them?
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

AZ
    banned
    Thread in WW, don't know if it'll help.

New Look S-Track MTB Pedals Replaces Quartz

mtbr member
    I've purchased the S-Track race version, done about 52km so far (one ride).

S-Track race:
    + Finish level
    + Bearings: 2 ball bearings and one needle-bearing (entry level model has 2 ball bearings and one Teflon bearing), resulting in very smooth spinning of the pedals during cycling
    + power transfer: you can really feel the larger support surfac
    + Clipping in & out : very defined click
    + Price/weight

- No adjustable spring tension: spring tension is rather high, I wouldn't recommend this pedal to beginners.

Time Atac XC 12 pedals:
    + Clipping in & out goes easier on the Time Atac XC pedals
    + spring tension is adjustable
    + 6mm axial float vs 1mm of the Look's
    + 5 angle freedom vs 3 of the Look's
    + Lower weight
    + Price/weight
    - Bearings: one ball bearing + Teflon bearing. The old Atax XS Ti model developed bearing play really fast - I received 2 new sets of pedals under warranty, so service is top notch. Hopefully this issue has been solved with the new XC's.
    - Drag of the bearing seals: you can really feel the pedals does not spin as smoothly as the Look's.

Would I exchange the Time's for the Look's? Too soon to ask - so far I really like the Look's, so they stay on the bike. Beginners that takes their first steps with clip pedals, should better look elsewhere.

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by madskatingcow View Post
    ...S-Track race:...very smooth spinning of the pedals during cycling...you can really feel the larger support surface...spring tension is rather high...

Time Atac XC 12 pedals: