Thread: Knee issues

mtbr member
    Sep 2013

Knee issues

Wasn't sure what the correct forum was for this questions but I figured this was as good as any...

I'm new to HTs having ridden FS bikes for the past 15 years. I recently built out a Honzo because I "needed" a HT to compliment my FS bike and to pull double duty with some neighborhood riding with the kids. What it comes down to is this:

After I ride my FS I feel great with absolutely no problems.

After I ride my HT my knees feel wrecked for a day or two afterwards.

What gives? Am I doing something wrong or is this just a symptom of wrecked knees and getting older (41)? My problems only arise after riding trails, I can ride concrete all day with no problems. Any ideas for me?

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Seven1three View Post
    Wasn't sure what the correct forum was for this questions but I figured this was as good as any...

I'm new to HTs having ridden FS bikes for the past 15 years. I recently built out a Honzo because I "needed" a HT to compliment my FS bike and to pull double duty with some neighborhood riding with the kids. What it comes down to is this:

After I ride my FS I feel great with absolutely no problems.

After I ride my HT my knees feel wrecked for a day or two afterwards.

What gives? Am I doing something wrong or is this just a symptom of wrecked knees and getting older (41)? My problems only arise after riding trails, I can ride concrete all day with no problems. Any ideas for me?
    Has your seatpost height changed between each bike? Has the chainring width decreased or increased?

mtbr member
    Can you elaborate where exactly and how your knees hurt after you ride your HT?