mtbr member
    Mar 2012

Jamis trail x3 or KHS alite 500

alright, so both are priced pretty much the same, around 200 dollars(KHS is 20 dollars pricier) for a 2009 used. both in fairly good condition, and lets assume both fit really well for my taste, which one would be the better choice?I'm new to mtb.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Feb 2012

KHS Alite 500

Quote Originally Posted by Honestly View Post
    alright, so both are priced pretty much the same, around 200 dollars(KHS is 20 dollars pricier) for a 2009 used. both in fairly good condition, and lets assume both fit really well for my taste, which one would be the better choice?I'm new to mtb.

Thanks!

Honestly, I was in the EXACT same predicament this year but on the 2011 X3 and 2012 KHS Alite 500 OR KHS Aguila 29'er. They are all pretty well priced and spec'd the same. I could almost guarantee the X3 is mechanical disc, 6061 Frame 24 or 27 spd if I remember right. Anyway in a nutshell I bought the 2012 KHS Aguila 29'er which is speced the same as the Alite 500 just it was a 29'er. The other thing that helped with the decision was Jamis in Canada is only purchasable through Sport Chek (Department Store) and I would recommend your bikes should be purchased through Local Bike Shops for better gear and better service.

Jason - Hope this helped

Jason - hope it helped

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Thanks for the reply!(seems kinda hard to get one around here)

So either one is a solid choice and really its only the name and the frame geo that differ?
    thanks again

mtbr member
    Feb 2012