Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Tactical Nightmare

Insure your bike! Itís inexpensive and worth doing!

As an insurance agent, I just wanted to suggest something to MTBR members that is worthwhile to do to protect the investment of your bike. It is really simple, fairly inexpensive, and well worth doing in my personal opinion.

If you have a Renters or Homeowners insurance policy, you can list your bike as what is called ďScheduled Personal PropertyĒ. This is the same type of thing that people do with items such as jewelry, fine art, or other valuable items. It is essentially giving these specifically listed items their own policy that many will refer to as a rider or floater attached to the Renters or Homeowners policies. Sure, your bike would be covered under the standard or blanket coverage of Personal Property, but when it is covered under that category, it will be subject to a deductible, which commonly is a minimum of $500. In addition, it is typically (depends on the company) insured for additional causes of loss than what the standard policy covers it for, which is fire and theft. It would seem that there really wouldnít be anything else that could happen to it, but Iím sure you have all seen stories of a bike falling off a bike rack, or what about just losing the bike (called Mysterious Disappearance by insurance companies)? These perils (causes of loss) could be covered as well if it is listed as Scheduled Personal Property, where under the standard Personal Property coverage, they may not be covered.