Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

How old are you?

9K views 143 replies 115 participants last post by  plugp7 
#1 ·
I'm considering putting down a nice amount of cash on a 6 inch travel all mountain bike, but then I started thinking I'm almost 54 years old. Is it too much bike?

I know I'm in better shape than most Americans of any age, but when are you too old to keep pushing yourself and falling in the dirt?

So, how old are you, and how hard do you still ride?

#120 ·
Turned 55 in July and retired after 38 years in the Canadian Army and RCAF. We moved to Cumberland, BC, a mountain-bike destination on Vancouver Island. I have been riding my 5 Spot a poop load and slowly getting to know this amazing trail network. The fun gauge goes to 11 here.

#126 ·
I started riding at 34 when I had to leave my job due to my multiple sclerosis messing with my coordination and all that. I was depressed and just decided to get a bike from WalMart...I fell in love with trails and quickly upgraded to more awesome of a bike. I can't
go as fast anymore or for long times and at now 38 I probably move tons slower than any 50's 60's....hell 70 and 80 year olds.

I say if you are able and willing....just get the bike you want and ride as well as you can. who cares about age.... I'mm riding as long as my body can fight this ****ing crap I have.

#127 ·
I'm 60, and getting ready to put a large chunk of change down on a new ride. I still push myself to my limit and ride all the stuff I was riding 15 years ago, albeit not as aggressively as I once did. I try to remember that while I'm not as fast as I was 10 years ago, I am faster than I'll be 10 years from now, so I make sure I enjoy every minute I'm on the bike.

#128 ·
I got back into mountain biking this year, aged 50.

At first I was gasping for breath after every hill, but I have slowly improved over the Summer, and it is definitely the best thing I have ever done.