mtbr member
    Jun 2014

How often do you buy a new bike?

Hello. I'm new here. I've been riding since 2005, and, in those years, have only boughten two new bikes. When I bought my current one, I sold my previous one. Every year new bikes come out with only a few upgrades and, usually, only minor changes to the frame design.

So, how often do you buy and bike (not upgrade components, but buy a complete bike)?

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    I've bought 7 bikes in the last 2 years (2 hard tails, 1 FS, 1 road, 2 cyclocross, 1 time trial)... only have 5 of them still. I think I'm finally to the point I have the bikes I want and don't have a reason to upgrade anything I have at this point. (As a disclaimer, I first started riding bikes 2 years ago, hence all the bikes in that time frame, LOL!)

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    I've owned 7 bikes in 21 yrs.....lets see UM that's a bike every 3 yrs.

3X7 = 21 Yup got it right

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    just ordered my 2nd bike in 4 years altho this one is not a mtb. Have a 88 Mongoose road and a 94 Trek mtb. Don't ride the Trek anymore.
    , course I had a 18 yr hiatus from riding

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Dec 2003
    Been mtb for 20 years. I average a new bike every 4 years and usually update/mod the shock/fork every 2 years. Got to tell you after 4 years of bi-annual maintenance and annual overhauls my bikes are pretty clapped out.

mtbr member
    Not as often as I'd like to, but certainly more often than I need to...

meh... whatever
    whenever i see one i like. which is often.

no need to get sucked into the latest-greatest trap though. most mid to upper level bike's capabilities far surpass those of the average rider.
    "Knowledge is good." ~ Emil Faber

Hooligan