mtbr member
    Jul 2006

How much tire pressure?

On my tires it says a minimum of 40psi but it seems people run much lower than whats listed on the tire. How much air should I put in my Trek 4500. I'm 150lbs if it makes a difference. I've been using around 35psi but I just want to know whats ideal. Also should it be higher if I'm riding on pavement?

govt kontrakt projkt mgr
    I used to use 40 when I was a newb. I accidently put in 40 on a ride last month--the ride is harsh--I was pinging off rocks, nearly going down etc. I've found 30-35 is much better.

I think I used to use 40 so as to prevent pinches, but I've found better riding technique and not using the lightest tubes allow even a 215 lb person like me get away with running pretty low pressures.

On d road on my road bike I pump em pretty hard but even here experts say there is a point where harder wont get you any faster.

ballbuster

I say as low as you can go...

Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Breeze
    On my tires it says a minimum of 40psi but it seems people run much lower than whats listed on the tire. How much air should I put in my Trek 4500. I'm 150lbs if it makes a difference. I've been using around 35psi but I just want to know whats ideal. Also should it be higher if I'm riding on pavement?
    without:

pinch flatting
    tire rolling off the rim
    tire feeling mushy or quirmy in the turns

Apart from that, generally the smaller the tire, the more pressure it needs to keep you up. I typically run 33-35 PSI on 2.25 tires or 38-40 on 2.0s, and I weigh around 200#.

Lower pressure will get you better traction (until the tire becomes squirmy) and a smoother ride (until you bottom the rim out).

Higher pressure gets you slightly lower rolling resistance on paved roads, since the tire isn't trying to 'envelope' rocks and stuff.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004