mtbr member
    Oct 2012

New question here. How do I remove my crankset?

I'm trying to wrap a tube around my chainstay (to protect it) and I stupidly started at the rear of the bike, so now, I'm trying to finish it by sticking it under the previous loop, but there's very little clearance between the chainstay and the gears. The bolt in my crank arm looks like a regular allen wrench type bolt, so I tried using an allen wrench, but I can't get it to budge and I'm afraid to apply too much force because I'm not sure if I'm doing it right and I don't want to break it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    May 2005
    What kind of crank is it? Pics?
    Hey sexy mama, wanna kill all humans?

duh
    which way are you turning it?

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    I tried turning it counter-clockwise (righty-tighty, lefty-loosey) and when that didn't work, I tried it clockwise.

I'm not sure if this pic helps at all. I'm a noob, so I'm not really sure.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails How do I remove my crankset?-uploadfromtaptalk1352096281571.jpg  

rebmem rbtm
    Apr 2007
    You'll need a tool like this.

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    But according to that video, I have to remove the bolt first, how do you know what's under the bolt? And I just need to apply more force to get the bolt off? I won't break it?

'11 Opus Strat
    IMHO, Take it to your LBS. I've been dinking around with bikes all my life, but just recently really picked it up as a hobby/sport/etc. And one thing I will NOT DO is work on my bike as of now, I am to inexperienced and not only that, I do not have the proper tools either to play bike mechanic. Keep hitting up the forums, ask questions, watch videos, etc etc. and soon enough you will have some workmanship skills under your belt.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Ferrari353 View Post