mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Help front shock leaking?

Hello peeps. I am a noob and I just bought a used trek 820 mountain bike. I noticed that the front shocks are leaking this weird orange rust color. Is this bad? Do i return the bike and get my money back? is it an easy fix? Do i have a LBS look at it? Please advise me someone. Thank you

I like pie.
    Quote Originally Posted by robmoto View Post
    Hello peeps. I am a noob and I just bought a used trek 820 mountain bike. I noticed that the front shocks are leaking this weird orange rust color. Is this bad? Do i return the bike and get my money back? is it an easy fix? Do i have a LBS look at it? Please advise me someone. Thank you
    Used, from a private party. No you do not return it. It's a used bike. Take it to your LBS for a repair.

mtbr member
    If it is the original SR Suntour fork that came with the bike, I seriously doubt even the LBS will be able to do much, if anything with it. The "weird orange rust colour" is likely to be rust from the steel springs and insides of the stanchion tubes. Water has penetrated the fork and is starting to rust everything inside.
    Sadly, the easiest way to fix the fork is to buy another fork. Get something like a Rockshox XC28 or similar. It will be a lot better fork in the long run than what you currently have.
    I don't crash, I just have slightly uncontrolled dismounts!

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    How does the fork function?

If you feel adventures, open the fork up. Take it apart, rinse clean lubricate.

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    So far I have about 50 miles on the bike. The suspension isnt leaking that color anymore. But Im just worried that It might be messed up. Is buying a new front shock worth it? Or have someone take it apart?

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    here are some pictures of it. I took it today after my morning ride to work

Help front shock leaking?-photo2.jpg
    Help front shock leaking?-photo.jpg

mtbr member
    Apr 2012