mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Hello, everybody on the Forum

I been checking out the forum for a few days, so I thought I join..
    I have no mountain bike experience, except powered dirt bikes I rode as a kid.

I am 49 and looking to get into mountain bike trail riding nothing too serious at this point, just want to get on some hiking trails and do some riding for exercise. I won't be doing any racing just for fun. I think I would like something like a capable XC bike.

I have been looking at a used 2011 Trek Remedy 18.5 160mm fox full suspension. Stock except for mrp bashguard for around $1200.00.

I am also looking at a Kona Tanuki 2012 17" for around $1050.00 I am around 5' 11" tall.

I also interested in 29er's and learning a little about Fat Bikes they look fun also.
    TC

Hell Track
    Hello
    17" bike might be a bit small for you. 160mm is a lot of suspension for a beginner riding cross country. For a beginner looking to ride for fitness 29er hard tail might be a good option.

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by crewjones View Post
    Hello
    17" bike might be a bit small for you. 160mm is a lot of suspension for a beginner riding cross country. For a beginner looking to ride for fitness 29er hard tail might be a good option.

Thanks for the reply, I know very little about bikes just some from what I have read recently, I need to keep reading. The full suspension is kinda just like eye candy to me!! and there seems to be allot a fuss about 29ers.

I like that some of the full suspensions can be locked out, so I guess that can save energy by locking out the rear suspension which is a plus, but I think it would help going down hill, but then again being a total beginner and 49, a rear suspension may not be advantageous at all for me. Plus imo those shocks are really over priced, mostly because it a niche market I guess, but would be expensive to replace.