mtbr member

Hand and finger pain

Had my longest ride on the trail yesterday. Last third of the ride, my fingers really began to ache. Primarily, it's the middle and ring fingers on each hand. It was bad enough that I was wincing when going over rough stuff and avoiding it as much as I can. They're still hurting today.

I figure it's two things. Either my grips (Salsa Backcountry lock on) aren't working for me, or I'm gripping my bars way too hard. I'm still a beginner, so I figure it's more of the later. But I'm curious to see if anyone here has had similar issues and to find out if different grips are called for. I'm 6'3" and have fairly large hands, usually size XL gloves. I noticed that the Ergon grips have a large size with an increased grip diameter and might give those a shot.

Thanks.

mtbr member
    I've tried the gs whatever Ergons and after much adjustments just do not like em for trails. For trails I think ga series is the way to go and if I remember correct there was an Ergon guy on here who said that that's what Ergon recommends too. But it seems some do like them.
    Think the number one cause of hand discomfort is not having the brake levers adjusted so that when your fingers are on them your wrist is pretty much straight.
    Could also be a bad bike set up, fit or adjustment. And I'm sure you'll hear more core strength will help. Don't forget hyperextentions.
    Maybe some bar ends? Maybe a bike fitting? Maybe some bars with more or less sweep than you have now? Maybe rotate your bars? Don't forget to re-adjust levers.
    Try holding the bars, but not a death grip, instead of leaning on them.
    Fwiw odi rogue are my faves.
    My .02
    Round and round we go

local trails rider
    The "death grip" is a common reason for sore hands.
    That said, there are many other possibilities, as theMeat says. Bigger grips or more padded gloves might suit people with large hands. My hands are not large, and I cannot stand padded gloves.