Ride Instigator

GREASE to press a HS in Carbon Frame?

I'm going to take my new Blur LTc frame to a local shop tomorrow to have the headset pressed in. I talked to the guy who's going to do it and he says he butters it up with a little Park Polylube 1000 just like you would with an aluminum frame. I also asked him about using carbon paste on the seat post and he says it's not really necessary unless you have a slippage issue and you can just use a little Polylube there too (I'm using a Thomson Elite post).

Anyway, yay or nay with regards to grease on carbon? I'm new to this carbon business and I thought I read that grease on carbon is a no no.

Your thoughts?

mtbr member
    For interference fit (pressed) applications in HS and BB, grease is totally fine. We do it that way in the shop. For carbon seat posts and bars, friction paste should be used.

mtbr member
    From the carbon frames I've seen including my new Yeti ARC-carbon, there is an aluminum insert built into the frame for the headset, so grease is fine. For the seat post don't use anything if you can get away with it, friction paste if you can't. I have a Thompson elite on the Yeti and so far no friction paste has been needed.

Ride Instigator
    Quote Originally Posted by smithcreek View Post
    From the carbon frames I've seen including my new Yeti ARC-carbon, there is an aluminum insert built into the frame for the headset, so grease is fine. For the seat post don't use anything if you can get away with it, friction paste if you can't. I have a Thompson elite on the Yeti and so far no friction paste has been needed.
    My Blur frame doesn't have an alu insert in the head tube, the HS presses directly into the carbon bore. I haven't ridden the bike yet to know if I have any slippage at the seat tube but it fits nice and snug (but not too snug) before you tighten the qr. I put a little carbon paste on there anyway just to be safe.

mtbr member