mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Go from 48-38-28T crankset to something smaller for easier uphill?

Hi,

I'm a beginner rider. I was riding with a friend of mine, and I had trouble keeping up with her going uphill. It was about 300m steady elevation gain over 4 km.

Now I have practiced this same ride alone a few times, and I am getting better (i'm not sure what my exact time is, less than an hour anyway), although I have to do it all the way up int he lowest gear. I'm in pretty decent shape (I run), so i'm not sure if I should just practice more to get better at going uphill or replace my current crankset with another one.

My current crankset is 48-38-28T and I understand 24/32/42 or 22 are more common than mine on mountain bikes, and with the smaller gear ratio they should make it easier to pedal up hill.

Advice - get a new 24/32/42 or 22/32/42 crankset

(
    Shimano Deore Crankset - Calgary, Alberta - Specialized, Rocky Mountain, Electra, Opus, BMC or Amazon.com: Shimano 7/8 Speed Alivio Mountain Bicycle Crankset - Square Taper - FC-M410: Sports & Outdoors)?

If I get a new crankset do I need to get anything else to go along with it to make sure it works.

I currently have a trek 3500 with a Shimano Alivio M411 crankset (bent the teeth on the original crankset). I also upgraded the tires on it. See links below for specs.

TrekBikes.com Bike Archive | 2010 3500

Shimano Alivio M411 4-Bolt 7/8 Speed Crankset - Mountain Equipment Co-op. Free Shipping Available

banned
    Aug 2012
    I'd go 22/32/42 ... See if you can just get the sprockets, as it might save you a few dollars.

Also, (I know you didn't mention it) forget trying to keep the 48T for top end ... Your FD has a 20 tooth limit, so if you go 22T your maximum front sprocket needs to be 42T.

Ive run 44/22 on most of my bikes with no issues.

Trying to picture a 48 big. Not a lot of places i could open it all the way up, but damn that would be fun when i could!