mtbr member

FSA the Pig headset question....

Hi all, still a noob here, hope I'm posting in the correct place. I know this had been covered before in some posts but couldnt find answer to the bearing direction. I checked parktool tech manual and other website advised in this forum.

I'm asking all you wise ppl for some help please. Thanks in advance.

I just installed my first headset the pig, with the caged ball bearings. So I know the open cage faces downward into the ht and faces up into ht for the bottom bearings. and according to the little manual that it came with.
    Once i installed the fork, it did not sit flush with the fork's crown race. there was about 1-1.5mm gap with the bottom cup's lip to the bottom of race. so i tried to set preload, added/removed spacer made sure there was at least 3mm from top of stem to lip of fork. once i tried to set preload there was play front and back, and preload was super very sensitive. slightest torque would made the steering stiff, back the top nut off a tad, and there still little play. i removed the play then steer was stiff i played with spacers, torque , no ovalized ht. and i know starnut is not broken since other method worked buttery smooth. still stumped. couldnt get it perfect.

so i flipped the bottom bearing face down(open cage facing the crown race) and was able to remove play, felt buttery smooth, and bottom cup sits very flush with the crown race. All seems perfect now. so stumped again, as i know the open cage should face each other. Now is it bad to leave and ride in this position for the bearings?

i can post pics if it makes this easier to understand.

and thanks again for all and any tips and advice.

cheers, JC

Gazing through trees
    Name:  Untitled 143.png
Views: 363
Size:  14.5 KB

Unless you have your bearings like this, like the instructions say to do, you will destroy them, the cups, and have three-times the freeplay after the first ride.