mtbr member
    Mar 2011

Hope Front tire and rear tire size comparison question help?

Hi guys,

Newbie here And have a quick question on Front tire and rear tire size comparison.

I ride a 09 stumpy sworks. Currently tire size setup:

Front: 2.0
    Rear: 2.2

I noticed most people have the front tire size larger than the rear. Should I swipe them? What's the advantage and dis advantage on the size? Pls educated me.

I tried 2.0 front and 2.0 rear but i was losing traction in the rear. After switching to the 2.2 rear, bike feels so much better. What's if I tried 2.2 front and 2.0 rear? Will it feel better?

Pls help. Might be a stupid question but I'm still learning. Thx!

Plays with tools
    weight distribution has a lot to do with this. If your riding your Sworks in an S-works type position your weight is going to be much more evenly split front to rear so it would make sense to have tire widths that were the same or pretty close. If your running a more upright position your loading the rear tire more and can get away with a narrower tire and maintain comparable grip. But to compensate you would need a wider tire up front to balance things out.

Sense you already had problems with traction in the rear and solved them by swapping to a wider tire I would think you could upsize the front as well.

All of this comes down to personal preference in the end though. What bike you ride and soil conditions, weight distribution all have a lot to do with this topic. But tires are cheap in the grand scheme of a bike like yours so try some out. Might be worth asking your LBS what kinds of tread patterns they like and starting there.

No good in rock gardens..
    Customfab is on the money.

The front does all the steering and is what will bring you undone through a lack of traction and grip - so a larger, more agressive tyre up front is a good idea and won't add much rolling resistance.