mtbr member

Entry Level 29er - Giant or Specialized?

I'm looking for an entry level bike. Of these bikes, which would you recommend Giant Revel 1 29er, Giant Talon 1 29er, Specialized Rockhopper 29er of maybe a Carve? Riding would be singletracks, just riding to get in shape and enjoy the trails. The only other dealer in my area is a Trek. Thank you

Live 2 Ride
    I would say the Trek Marlin. I bought one this year and loved it.
    My Bike: '96 Gary Fisher Aquila
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    Trek makes a lot of 29ers, I would
    check them out also.

mtbr member
    I am a big fan of Specialized...no real reason..but I like the Carve. Which one comes with rims that are tubeless-ready?
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

ready to ride
    The only thing I have against Trek is the proprietary G2 forks. Its just an offset difference but their frames are designed around it. So upgrading your fork can be difficult or expensive.

Not exactly sure what your budget is but at the entry level price point closely compare components. Also not sure where you are riding but you mention "single track" and "trail" both of those scream something better than the stock suntour spring shock most entry level bikes come with. Well at least on my trails.

I've seen some pretty good deals to had around our shops lately. My advice is spend just more than you can afford and get the best bike up front instead of planning to upgrade later. If possible test ride as many as you can. If you are handy with a wrench and not concerned with a name brand you might consider bikesdirect or airborne. Typically you will get better components with a decent frame.
    Hell if you are looking at Carve I would take a close look at Airbornes Goblin at $1200 it has far superior components compared to the Carve comp at $1600

Live 2 Ride