mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Completely new to the sport, help getting my first bike

Hey guys i'm new to the sport and i'm looking at getting my first bike. I've done some research and everything has pointed me in the direction of pay now or pay later. I am a student so money is an issue, that being said I have taken a look at the jamis trail x2 and x3. I'm leaning toward the x2 simply because I can get a brand new one for 250. I guess my question is more for around 300 what bike do you think I would progress better on, x2 and x3 are the top two for me now (i like the way they look and from the reviews i've read seem that they are pretty good for a beginner) but i'll take any advice I can get. Thanks in advance for any responses!

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    For most of the 'soothsayers' that hang out here, an entry level bike would be a Giant Anthem X4 29er at about $1900. Or a front suspension only version of something like that for maybe $1400. Shops I frequent don't have anything under $500. What happens under that 'price point' can be, well, disappointing.

It's not snobbery. It's just that by the time you get real bearings and real tires and safe brakes and such for 'mountain biking' it'll cost that much. Riding to the store is another matter. I have an old 3 speed from the '70's that does that perfectly and even has a center stand and cost $25 used a decade ago.

If you're thinking 'sport' then you'd be better off getting a used bike and getting some books and tools to learn how to maintain it yourself. That will almost be a necessity if you're strapped for cash. It can be a long walk home from wherever you got lost to, so your bike will need to be sturdy and well maintained.

The fact that a bike is new means little if it's poorly made and not up to the task. Or assembled haphazardly which is usually the case on bike at that price. Whereas a good quality but used bike for that price can serve you well and still have some resale value when you move up.