Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2013

Comfortable grips to avoid palm pain

Since I started riding back, I noticed that each time I do some time with my bike, I always felt some pressure and pain on the palm of my hand. I didn't wear gloves but plan to buy them. However, I believe I must look for a more comfortable grips to replace the stock Kona grips (I have both a 1999 and 2008 Kona Cinder Cone and they both have the exact same grips with the same comfort level, which is shitty).

What would anyone suggest to replace the stock ones and for your information, I have a Answer Hyperlite straight handlebar (made in 1999 but still the reference, probably replaced by Easton I believe) ?

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Get some Ergon grips and your pain will be gone.

Ergon Grips | ChainReactionCycles.com

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    Yeah try the Ergon grips. No more palm pain for me.

mtbr member
    Get some gloves! They are cheap, and save your palms when you ride and when you crash.

mtbr member
    May 2013
    moefosho, I will buy gloves for real XC riding soon for sure.

For the grips, I remember seeing a few Ergon grips at my closest LBS so I'll check them and report back.

mtbr member
    Thirds on the Ergon grips. I just bought a Trek cargo bike that came with them on it and OMG....they are amazing! And FYI, I have biked for years and had all kinds of grips and bars, these shoot the others out of the water!

usually cranky
    your pain may have more to do with improper hand placement. is it more like an uncomfortable rubbing feeling or an actual ache in your hands?

High Desert MTBer