mtbr member

Carbon Seat Post

Just purchased a Hylix carbon seat post with off-set in 400mm for my new Niner EMD. I installed it last night and it looks great however I noticed this thing has a fair amount of flex. I've never run carbon before so this makes me a bit nervous. Is this typical out of a carbon seat post?

mtbr member
    Yes, thats the whole reason to run a carbon post since i makes for a slightly more forgiving ride.
    Giant XTC Composite 29er, SID XX World Cup fork, AC Race 29 wheels
    Giant TCR advanced with Ultegra Di2

mtbr member
    May 2005
    IMO, flex is good, assuming it's designed that way. I've been using carbon windsurfing masts for 15 years and they deflect a lot under load, sometimes 30+ deg. and usually last a long time

Can you post some pics of the post? The one's on eBay are not very good.

Sweep the leg!
    Don't know about yours, but my Bontrager ACC has an aluminum core. It does flex, but it won't snap as easily.
    Authorities speculate that speed may have been a factor. They are also holding gravity and inertia for questioning.

fresh fish in stock...... SuperModerator
    that's because it's not 29'er infused carpet fiber

moved to general

Visit these 2 places to help advance trail access:
    http://www.sharingthepct.org/
    http://www.facebook.com/SharingThePct

MTC rep for LPCPCAC
    Got the popcorn ready for the inevitable carbon debate....

Carbon, fantastic light weight and strong or are we completely fooled by the industry trying to sell us inferior product so they can make a buck?
    Apathy will get you exactly what you deserve

mtbr member
    Dec 2011
    running the 9er carbon post and it flexes somewhat but not as much as the RDO. I like it so far

mtbr member
    Oct 2007