mtbr member
    Jun 2010

Can't decide between Fox Ranger and Sergeant

I know there are threads about shorts but most of them just ask what you're favorites are. This thread is for people that have experience with the Ranger and Sergeant. I'm new to mountain biking and clothing is the last thing before I hit a real trail. I want something that will fit good but not be too expensive. I tried on Rangers at REI yesterday and while I was wearing boxers while trying them out, they seemed to fit good. (Yes I know not to wear anything with a liner.) Anywho, I didn't buy them because they didn't have the gray ones so I figured I'd just order from home. Well after getting home I see they don't even have the gray ones available from the website.

While I was at the store I didn't bother trying on Sergeants because I didn't feel like paying $30 more if the Rangers fit good. What is the advantages to the Sergeant over the Rangers? Another thing I'm wondering is about the inseam, seeing as the Sergeants are 2 inches longer and that Rangers and normal shorts I wear are 12 inches and fit great.

Halp!

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    No one?

mtbr member
    If you like the Ranger's, get them. If you can try both, try the sergeants. I have both, and prefer the feel of the sergeants. You may not. I think the price difference is the little micro cleaning cloth, magnetic close pockets, more expensive chamois (better? your call) and the fact you can remove the chamois. The last is a nicety for me, if I'm packing light and can arrive at my destination, pull of the chamois and put the shorts back on for lounging around. They're a nice short for that but I don't like to be in a chamois if I'm not riding.
    I'm looking forward to regretting this.......

Working Man's Toilet