Thread: Broken crank

mtbr member
    Mar 2018

Broken crank

I'm a newbie. My buddy let me borrow his bike, 2010 Giant XTC 29er 2. I tried to change out the pedals and stripped the right crank arm. I like the bike and I'm probably just going to buy it from him now.

Would it bet better to try to find and replace the crankset with the original? It's a Truvativ Isoflow 3.0. or would it be better to upgrade to something different for a crank, or a larger group of parts? Is this bike worth messing with?

Mr. Buck E. Fikes
    Fine bike if it fits your bill for riding. If it were mine, I'd pitch the entire crankset and BB and throw something like a RaceFace Aeffect cinch and make it a 1x drivetrain for a reasonable dollar amount. I did just see a new crankset with 3x chainrings for $63 though. I just wouldn't go with gears up front and that bike would lose some serious weight by making that change. My .02.

Bicycles aren't motorized
    Heli-coil it.
    Quote Originally Posted by me;
    Of all the paths you take in life, make sure that most of them are dirt.
    Make
    America
    Gravel
    Again

mtbr member
    Jul 2017
    Might as well convert to 1x, if you ask me.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by MissesAlot View Post
    I'm a newbie. My buddy let me borrow his bike, 2010 Giant XTC 29er 2. I tried to change out the pedals and stripped the right crank arm. I like the bike and I'm probably just going to buy it from him now.

Would it bet better to try to find and replace the crankset with the original? It's a Truvativ Isoflow 3.0. or would it be better to upgrade to something different for a crank, or a larger group of parts? Is this bike worth messing with?
    https://www.bikepedia.com/Quickbike/...spx?item=80003

Not sure how much your buddy wants for it, but