Thread: Bike Setup

mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Bike Setup

Newbie here coming from a lot of road experience. I'm wondering about bike setup. I'm building up a 29 er based off of a diamondback trace frame which some have told me is really more of a hybrid than a 29er mtb frame but lets not bring that into discussion. in a more general basis, what are the different types of setups you see on MTB's in regards to seat height, handlebar height etc. In the road world I have a touring bike where I am very upright and the handle bars are same height as my seat and I'm very stretched out on it. ON my racing bike I have close to a 5" saddle to bar drop, the racing bike feels almost twitchy in regards to cornering while the touring bike feels like a boat making long slow turns around corners.

What would be considered aggressive for a XC trail type of bike? I've looked at different pics on this forum and sometimes I feel like I see saddles higher than bars and other times it looks like bars are way above the saddle? I know I have to ride and see what also fits my body and such, but I'm just curious. on the road, aerodynamics are paramount in setting up your bike. Doesn't seem like that matters at all off road

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    As you know different setups for different rides. A mountain cross country race bike is set up more like a road race bike with lower bars and quicker handling. A mountain race down hill bike is set up with a higher bar ,shorter stem and a lower seat. How do you define aggressive? As in going fast or riding steeper ,looser with rocks and ruts. No aerodynamics don't matter. You might look at some youtube videos to see what type of bikes are used where.

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    For overall riding, your bar to saddle height should be fairly close to level to offer a overall neutral feel. Thats my take for general riding, but go with what feels best for you. Thats most important.

banned
    Sep 2012